Fulbright U.S. Student Awards Announced

The Ohio State University is pleased to announce that ten undergraduates and two doctoral candidates received prestigious U.S. Student Fulbright Awards for the 2022-2023 academic year from the U.S. Department of State and the Fulbright Foreign Scholarship Board.

The following students received Fulbright U.S. Student Program awards for an English Teaching Assistantship (ETA):

· Briana Anthony, France ETA, Philosophy Major with minors in African American and African Studies and French

· Katriese DeLeon, Spain ETA, Linguistics and Spanish Major

· Aurora Fleming, Germany ETA, International Business Major with a minor in International Studies

· Olivia Geyer, Mexico ETA, International Studies and Spanish Major with a minor in Nonprofit Management

· Jad Hussein, Colombia ETA, Biomedical Engineering and Spanish Major

· Adesh Labhasetwar, Spain ETA, Economics – Business and International Studies Major

· Amy Muhlenkamp, Germany ETA, Sciences and Mathematics Education Major with a minor in German

· Emily Needham, Germany ETA, History and Philosophy, Politics, and Economics Major with a minor in Dance

· Emily Schneider, Germany ETA, Linguistics Major with minors in German and Speech and Hearing Science

· Micah Unzueta, Peru ETA, Spanish Major with a minor in International Studies

The following doctoral candidates received Fulbright U.S. Student Program Open Study/Research Grants:

· Natalie Romeri-Lewis (Department of Political Science) to Colombia

· Craig Shapiro (Department of Anthropology) to Samoa

Additionally, six students have been named alternates for Fulbright U.S. Student Awards:

· Sylvia Cressman, Finland Study/Research, Mechanical Engineering Major

· Cheyenne l’Auclair, United Kingdom Study/Research, International Studies and Arabic Major

· Emily Nothnagle, Kenya ETA, Anthropology, Psychology, and Music Major

· Diana Sari, South Korea ETA, Music Education Major

· Jessica Sutton, Colombia ETA, Public Management, Leadership and Policy Major with a minor in Spanish

· Matthew Walker, Austria Study/Research, Data Analytics Major with a minor in Comparative Studies

As Fulbright participants, the students will study, conduct research, and teach abroad for the 2022-2023 academic year through the Fulbright U.S. Student Program. Recipients of Fulbright awards are selected in an open, merit-based competition that considers leadership potential, academic and/or professional achievement, and record of service.

As Fulbright alumni, their careers are enriched by joining a network of thousands of esteemed alumni, many of whom are leaders in their fields. Fulbright alumni include 61 Nobel Prize laureates, 89 Pulitzer Prize recipients, and 40 who have served as a head of state or government.

The U.S. Student Fulbright competition for undergraduates is administered at Ohio State through the Undergraduate Fellowship Office. The office assists all undergraduate Ohio State students interested in pursuing a national scholarship or fellowship. For more information contact fellowships@osu.edu. The U.S. Student Fulbright competition for graduate students is administered through the Office of International Affairs. For more information contact Joanna Kukielka-Blaser at kukielka-blaser.1@osu.edu.

The Fulbright Program is the U.S. government’s flagship international educational exchange program and is supported by the people of the United States and partner countries around the world. The Fulbright Program is funded through an annual appropriation made by the U.S. Congress to the U.S. Department of State’s Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs. Participating governments and host institutions, corporations, and foundations around the world also provide direct and indirect support to the Program.