Office of Academic Enrichment Honors and Scholars Center


Jamie Wise presenting her research poster

The Eminence experience is one of opportunity but also one of responsibility and commitment.

Students awarded the Stamps Eminence Scholarship are part of a select group of undergraduate Honors students that embark on a unique, four-year journey of academic rigor, service, and leadership. The program provides extraordinary opportunities and support for students that want to make a positive contribution to the world. Stamps Scholars demonstrate academic achievement, intellectual curiosity, high regard for humanity, and significant involvement both on and off campus.

While the program recognizes the value of learning as part of a community and facilitates opportunities to do so, individual goals and aspirations are nurtured. Stamps Scholars go on to pursue advanced study at the nation’s top graduate programs, gain admittance to competitive professional schools, and have garnered national awards including Rhodes, Marshall, Fulbright, Churchill, and Goldwater scholarships.  Graduates that enter the work force immediately upon graduation draw from high-profile internships to pursue their dream career.

Students in the Stamps Eminence Scholarship Program are recognized as both a Stamps Scholar and an Eminence Fellow. As a Stamps Scholar, students join an internationally prestigious scholarship program and community that helps exceptional students become meaningful leaders throughout society. The Stamps Scholars Program was founded by E. Roe Stamps and his late wife Penny in 2006 and all Ohio State Stamps Eminence Scholarship Program participants gain the full benefits of being a national Stamps Scholar. As an Eminence Fellow, students join a legacy scholarship program that began at Ohio State in 2012.

The Stamps Eminence Scholarship Program invests in young leaders that strive to make a difference in the world.​

Several Stamps Scholars are additionally supported by our generous partners including: 

The McCoy Eminence Fellows scholarship program was started in 1994 by Jeanne Bonnet McCoy with the goal of supporting preeminent students with significant academic achievement. The McCoy family has expanded the program several times since inception and today there are 12 McCoy Eminence Fellows with the program adding one new student annually.

The Hoge Eminence Fellows consist of the Nanette N. Hoge, Robert M. Hoge and Bruce W. Erickson Scholarships. Robert and Nanette Hoge started this preeminent scholarship program in 2000 to support distinguished students studying in STEM related fields or Business.

The Brennan Eminence Fellows scholarship program was started in 1997 by David and Ann Brennan to attract the “best and brightest” students through preeminent scholarship support. While the scholarship program is open to all students that meet the academic merit component, preference is given to students from Akron St. Vincent-St. Mary High School.