Tagged: Honors

Six President’s Buckeye Accelerator teams awarded $50,000 for entrepreneurial ventures

Six Ohio State University student teams who participated in the first-ever President’s Buckeye Accelerator have each been awarded $50,000 to fund their entrepreneurial ventures.

The six winners were among 10 teams who pitched their ideas to a panel of Ohio entrepreneurs on April 6. The pitch finale took place at the 99P Labs facility and was hosted by the Keenan Center for Entrepreneurship, a campus-wide hub for the development of startup ventures.

Ohio State students honored with Goldwater Scholarships

Four students from The Ohio State University have been recognized by the Barry M. Goldwater Scholarship and Excellence in Education Program.

Juniors Lia Gomez-Perez, Anthony Moussa, Rakesh Murugesan and Mackenzie Scott were all named 2022 Goldwater Scholars, the prestigious national award for undergraduate researchers in science, math and engineering. Goldwater Scholars receive an award to cover the cost of tuition, fees, books, and room and board up to a maximum of $7,500.

Ohio State, University District Organization partner to add full-time social worker to off-campus area

The Ohio State University is working with community partners to bring on a full-time social worker dedicated to helping housing-vulnerable people in the off-campus area. The hiring is one of several university initiatives designed to support the neighborhoods and residents surrounding Ohio State’s campus.

Ten Ohio State students receive Fulbright awards

Ten students from The Ohio State University received Fulbright U.S. Student Program awards for the 2021-2022 academic year from the U.S. Department of State and the Fulbright Foreign Scholarship Board.

Fulbright participants will study, conduct research and teach abroad for the 2021-2022 academic year through the Fulbright U.S. Student Program. Recipients of Fulbright awards are selected in an open, merit-based competition that considers leadership potential, academic and/or professional achievement and record of service.

Alexander St. Leger awarded Fulbright to Moldova

The Ohio State University alumnus Alexander St. Leger ‘21, international studies major and Spanish minor, has been awarded a U.S. Student Fulbright Grant to teach English in Moldova during the 2021-2022 academic year. While performing his teaching duties, St. Leger will organize American entertainment nights.

Anand Shah Driven to Serve

Anand Shah is a 2021 The Ohio State University graduate who has stepped up to serve others on our campus and beyond. A Biomedical science major, Shah has focused his work on helping to improve children's health.

Major: Biomedical Science. Minor in Economics and Real Estate.

​Kerstin Norris awarded Fulbright to South Korea

Kerstin Norris, senior double major in international studies and Korean with a minor in Spanish, has been awarded a U.S. Student Fulbright Grant to teach English in South Korea during the 2021-2022 academic year. An International Affairs Scholar, Kerstin will implement film screenings to connect with her host community.

Owen Morrish awarded Fulbright to the United Kingdom

Owen Morrish, senior honors double major in migration studies and Romance studies with a minor in psychology, has been awarded a U.S. Student Fulbright Grant to pursue a Master’s in Migration Studies at the University of Birmingham in the United Kingdom during the 2021-2022 academic year. 

Corey Khan awarded Fulbright to Slovak Republic

Corey Khan, senior honors history major and economics minor, has been awarded a U.S. Student Fulbright Grant to teach English in the Slovak Republic during the 2021-2022 academic year. While performing his teaching duties, Corey will lead workshops about computer languages and skills in his host community.

Fulbright grants are awarded by the U.S. Department of State and the J. William Fulbright Foreign Scholarship Board on the basis of academic and professional achievement, as well as awardees’ record of service and leadership potential in their respective fields.

Ohio State undergraduate awarded Truman Scholarship

Ohio State University student Oseremhen “Ose” Arheghan has been awarded a 2021 Harry S. Truman Scholarship.